How We Studied for the Boards

Very useful gems in here!

Physician-Artist

I love learning new ways to learn almost as much as I love learning new stuff.  A few weeks ago, I read and summarized A Mind for Numbers by Barbara Oakley. A quick read, it’s the companion book to “the #1 most popular MOOC (massive open online course) of all time,” Learning How to Learn, taught by Oakley, an engineering professor, and by Terrence Sejnowski, a computational neuroscientist.  I signed up for the course a long time ago but didn’t check it out until this month.

Why did I summarize it, you may ask?  Well, I got into the habit of distilling books into high-yield summaries when I observed my brilliant medical school classmates summarizing our textbooks, back in the day.  (When a bunch of smart kids study the same hard stuff over four years, they learn some things from each other.)  I still summarize practical books whenever…

View original post 3,032 more words

Your thoughts?

